Indian Creek

 

Relief

These river rocks must have been here many seasons

I, a weary traveler seek rest in them

Just to sit and catch my breath

Take a long, cool drink

It was probably a day from the time I first held

This refuge in my vision

As I fought the current

As I always do

Took so long to reach this place

From downstream

I will sit and look back now at how far I have come

Not very far, it seems

Yet so much still beyond where I started

Either direction, a mystery

Perhaps if I stop fighting

And go with the flow

Jump in and let the waters carry me

Perhaps then the tranquility I observe

But have yet to feel

Will be mine at last

Thanks to Carol Wingert for providing today’s photograph

~ by KK on July 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
